The Perishables Products Export Control Board (PPECB), South Africa’s official export certification agency for the perishable produce industry, is proud to announce the appointment of its new Board Members for the three year period effective 1 February 2020.

The PPECB Board is structured in accordance with the Perishable Products Export Control Act (PPEC Act), No 9 of 1983. In line with this the Board is appointed by, and accountable to, the Minister of the Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DALRRD) and comprises of non-executive directors, representing industries in which the PPECB operates.

The Board welcomes five new members namely Kathryn Sinclair, Warren Bam, Dr Charlotte Nkuna, Dr Madel van Eeden and Mariette Kotze who joined Khaya Katoo, Clive Garrett, Anton Kruger, Martli Slabber and Mooketsa Ramasodi who were reappointed for an additional tenure.

“The new Board Members bring with them a wide variety of skills and diverse experience which include research and development, conventional and organic farming, food processing, animal health, financial management and sustainable agriculture. Each has achieved significant success in their respective fields and their extensive experience will serve the PPECB and the industry well” said Lucien Jansen, Chief Executive Officer of the PPECB. “I wish to officially welcome the new Board Members and look forward to working together with them to strengthen the PPECB and better meet industry’s requirements. Furthermore, the PPECB is immensely proud of the 50% female representation on the new Board.”

The current PPECB Board Members include:

Serving their second term

  • Khaya Katoo represents the citrus industry and has managed a citrus farm since 2004. He is also the Chairman of the Entabeni Board of Directors, a member of the Citrus Marketing Forum and a member of the Citrus Growers Development Chamber.
  • Clive Garrett represents the subtropical fruit industry and currently holds the position of Marketing Manager at ZZ2 and is a Director of the South African Avocado Growers Association
    also serving on their market development committee.
  • Anton Kruger represents the pome and stone fruit industries and has extensive experience in stakeholder management as well as executive management in various industries. Since 2012 he
    has held the position of CEO of the Fresh Produce Exporters’ Forum.
  • Martli Slabber represents the citrus industry and is currently Managing Director of Hexrivier Sitrus. Furthermore, she was the founding Chairperson of the Soft Citrus Focus Group
  • Mooketsa Ramasodi was elected as the Ministerial Representative. He currently holds the position of Deputy Director-General: Agricultural Production, Health and Food Safety at the the
    Minister of the Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DALRRD) and has over two decades experience in government biosecurity regulatory services

Serving their first term

  • Kathryn Sinclair represents the marine industry and currently holds the position of Senior Research and Development Manager at Irvin & Johnson.She is also the Chairperson of the White
    Fish Technical Committee.
  • Warren Bam represents the table grape industry. He is a table grape farmer farming with both conventional as well as organic table grapes.He currently serves on the Board of the South
    African Table Grape Industry (SATI).
  • Dr Charlotte Nkuna represents organised agriculture. She has wide experience in the poultry industry, gained in a career spanning over two decades. She currently holds the position of
    General Manager of Veterinary Wildlife Services at SANParks.
  • Dr Madel van Eeden represents the processed foods industry. She is currently the Technical Manager of the Rhodes Food Group Fruit Unit with over 18 years’ experience in fruit and
    vegetable canning, quality control and food safety.
  • Mariette Kotze represents the pome and stone industry. She has served as a director of Philani Training and Development Solutions where she is responsible for the financial management
    portfolio.She is also the Chairperson of the Fruit Commodity Project Allocation Committee (CPAC).

For more information on the PPECB Board please visit